Monday, March 31, 2014

50 days!

50 days until my trip.  50 days until I take my first - longer than 6 hour - flight.  50 days until I cross something off my bucket list.

I've never had a "written down" bucket list.  Just items in my mind that are part of my bucket list.  One of those items was to travel to the Australian Continent - whether it be to Australia itself, New Zealand, or Tasmania.  I wanted to go.  The more I heard, the more I looked and researched, I determined that it was New Zealand that I wanted to visit.  Don't get me wrong - Australia would be amazing.  But, New Zealand's culture, beauty and people are what have been drawing me to it.  Tasmania would be amazing - I follow a Tasmanian Farmer on Instagram.  She is amazing.  She has beautiful crops, beautiful pictures, and a beautiful life - which I am sure is not always picture perfect.

My New Zealand adventure is not far off.  I wish I could spend a few weeks there.  I wish I had more time.  But sadly, the standard in America is 2 weeks vacation.  2 MEASLY weeks.  I left a job where I was given 3 weeks, to better my career.  Sometimes I do regret that, but ONLY because of vacation.  I made the best career choice.

Anyways - I'm off subject.  My flights have changed.  I now have a 11 hour layover in San Francisco.  I've been given a bonus vacation day!  Go me!  Having never been to San Francisco, I am PUMPED.  Hopefully, granted all goes well, my cousin will have the opportunity to have a meal or get together while I'm there.  I've never met said cousin - believe it or not!  How exciting if this works out!

There is a travel blog I've been viewing - Smarter Travel.  If your a traveler - check it out.  It's kind of great and has fantastic suggestions.  One of their suggestions was - always purchase a ticket 54 days in advance.  No earlier, no later.  and purchasing ticket 54 days in advance.  My plane ticket was purchased far more than 54 days in advance.  But, my ticket is more than $400 more than when I purchased it.  So, buying 54 days in advance?  Do your research - check it out.


Wednesday, March 26, 2014

The new BOX delivery fad...

There has been a fad lately of box deliveries.  First - I saw the barkbox.  I don't have a dog, but it looked fun!  Then, the Nature Box began showing up.  So I gave into the fad...  I have alot of subscriptions - Hulu, Netflix, and Audible.  None of those are "boxes"  but they are subscriptions that I benefit from monthly.  I - LOVE - Hulu.  I do not have cable.  I got rid of it 2 years ago, and got a Roku.  Best.Decision.of.my.life.  I figured it out budget wise - I am saving $75/month.  $75!   I decided to join Netflix these past couple months.  I will cancel it again soon, but it's nice to watch some shows that aren't available on Hulu (or amazon prime.)  Once I get my binge watching over, I'll cancel it :)    Audible is - awesome.  I drive/travel A LOT.  It's hard to find a decent radio station playing sometimes.  So, Audible always gives me a GREAT book to listen to.

But now, I've joined the fad.  I have tried 3 different box subscriptions.

My first "box" was with Graze.  They had a deal come along that you could get a box (w/4 snacks) for $1.  I figured - what the heck.  I didn't really like any of the four snacks I received.  But, I tried them.  Since then, I have received 2 additional deliveries.  My third box, which I received yesterday - was great.  I have not eaten all four snacks (Only 1) but they are more appealing than any delivery I have received.  The cost I now pay is $6.  You can cancel at any time.  You can increase your deliveries or decrease them.  They also have calorie counter boxes or the nibble box (I get this one).  Check it out.  I have enjoyed it!  They are great snacks to throw in your bag - especially when you travel - that aren't terrible for you!

My second "box" was with Plated.  I got - yet another - deal with plated.  They sent out an email offering 2 free meals, 3 month membership and free shipping.  So you only pay for 2 meals.  Plated is best described (in my opinion) as someone who wants to cook and make great meals, but doesn't have the time to go to the grocery store or the idea to put together meals.  Plated has 6 meals you can chose from a week.  You must pick a minimum of 4 servings (whether it is 1 meal w/4 servings or 2 meals w/2 servings each).  They also have a membership - $10/month which discounts the meals.  Without a membership the cost/serving is $15, but with a membership the cost is $12.  If you order quite a few meals - then the membership is worth it!

When I received my first delivery from Plated I was excited to get home and cook!  I ordered Pistachio Crusted Tofu and Tomato Gnocchi with a spring mix salad.  Every.single.possible.item that i needed - was included.  I LOVED the cards with the instructions!  The only ingredients for both meals that I had to provide was - olive oil and egg whites.  These meals were GREAT!  Since I had to order 2 servings of each - I was able to have my lunch for the next day.  So, my honest opinion about Plated - I love it.  I probably won't order it often, as it's expensive.  But, when I am dogsitting and would like to not use whomever's home I am in's food - this is a great alternative.  Definately check it out!
 Pistachio crusted Tofu with a Frisee salad
Baked Tomato Gnocchi with a spring mix


The most recent box I received was from Travel Box.  I was most excited about this delivery.  With my love to travel and the other reviews I had read - I was pumped.  This is a brand new company - just started in November 2013, so they are still hammering out their details.  The cost for this company is $26 ($19.95 and $6 shipping) per month.

My first box came last week.  I received 5 different items.  The box is a little large for the items you receive - but maybe in future months (if I stay subscribed) items will be larger.  But it was packaged beautifully! Their is a great card within that tells you the origianl cost of the items enclosed and gives you a brief description.   Below are the items I received:

  • Trace Me Luggage Tracker.  This is pretty cool and I look forward to using it on my trip to New Zealand.  You can register this online and baggage handlers can scan the tag if your bag goes missing and it will automatically email/text message you to let you know the location of the lost piece of luggage.  The retail price is:  $20.85
  • Lux City Guide - This is a pocket guide to Rome.  I don't have immediate plans to go to Rome, but I am sure I will someday!  Retail price is:  $9.99
  • Vapur Reflex Anti-Bottle.  I look forward to using this on my trip.  I am a huge fan of reusable bottles.  I have, however, found a love of glass bottles.  However, this will be GREAT for when space is limited.  Retail price is:  $7.99
  • Shea Terra Organics Rose Hips Black Soap.  I have never heard of this soap.  But I am more than willing to try!  It comes in a perfect travel size (1 oz) bottle.  Retail price is:  $4.00
  • Two Larabar Uber.  I love these bars.  I intend to buy a box to put in my bag for my New Zealand trip (along with a snack or 2 from Graze!)  
I saved $20.86 from buying all these items out of pocket.  Will I use everything?  Eh, probably not.  But - I am excited to see what I get in the mail in April!   If you have the extra $26/month - try it out!  I will probably continue it for a couple months to see how it pans out.  If you google coupon codes for the site - they do have a 10% coupon floating around.  I will update the post with a picture of my products!


Please note:  I was not paid or encouraged to write any of these reviews.  I paid - out of pocket - for these items myself and was not reimbursed.  















Tuesday, March 25, 2014

It's been awhile...lets catch up!

It's been awhile.  Quite a while.  I have lame excuses.  Many times I started to blog and then quit.  So...it's catch up time.  What has been happening since February.  Has it really been a month since I blogged!?!  Eek.

My apologies for a potentially long post....

Many adventures have been had in March.  A month that I thought would be burdened with loads of snow and no travel.  But, it turned into a month of loads of snow with lots of travel.  First - is anyone else as sick of the snow as I am?  Seriously!  And, per the weather forcast we are getting more tonight.  Such is life, but the city has no clue how to take care of the roads.  I wouldn't have as big of an issue with the snow - if the roads were maintained.

So onto the weekends of travel.  The end of February was a VERY important young lady's 13th Birthday.  I was lucky enough to head to York, PA to get to spend time with her and her siblings.  The trip was sadly cut short, due to.....weather.  BUT it was great.  I can't believe that my niece is 13 years old!  I can't believe I was only 20 when she was born!  We got to take her brothers out to lunch with us...with Ms. T picking the location.  Noodles and Company for that noodle lover!  All of those kids can down their noodles!


To continue the fun I went to Ohio for the following two weekends, but they were both cut short due to...you guessed it - WEATHER.

I was lucky enough to see a couple movies over this past month.  Typically I goto a movie every few months..  However, two great movies have premeired this month - Veronica Mars and Divergent.

My interest in Veronica Mars didn't peak until January 2014, when the TV series became available on Amazon Prime.  The movie answered many questions, but left some questions open for another movie.  Will their be an interest for another movie?  Probably not.  One of the greatest parts of the making of Veronica Mars - it was funded by the fans in a Kickstarter campaign.  How amazing is that?  Fans donated money to create this movie.


Divergent on the otherhand has been an interest of mine for MONTHS.  I listened to the trilogy via Audible. Many reviews of the movie I read say "The problem with Divergent is the 3rd book - Alligant."  I could not agree more.  The movie was great.  It didn't have the same hype as Hunger Games or the other books.  The gal who played "Tres" was too pretty for who I saw as Tres. BUT, she did a great job.  Four...was one mighty hot, sexy man.  But he was too old for Four.  The biggest frustration during the movie, however, was the two teenage girls that continuanlly whispered through the movie.  Doug, turned around and starred them down (they were also kicking his seat.)  It wasn't until I turned around and LOUDLY said "Please be quiet, you are ruining the movie for us and those around you."  When other folks around them said "Finally!  THANK YOU" they finally were quiet.  Folks - if you aren't going to a movie with your teenagers or children in general.  At least teach them common courtesy.  Talk when the movie is OVER or before it begins.  If you have the chance to read the Divergent books - READ THEM.  After you read them, then decide if you want to watch the movie :)


This past weekend the family (with the exception of my brother David) got to spend the weekend in Deep Creek Maryland.  What a great weekend!  We got to go Geocaching.  We didn't have the time to do ALOT of caches, but we looked.   Micah (my 5 yr old nephew) was SO excited to go on a treasure hunt.  The group of 11 of us dwindled down to 4 of us after our 2nd cache.  We found 1 cache , searched for 3 more, then found a 2nd one.  It was quite fun!  I look forward to doing it more!


 Our first find - off the sensory trail near the Discovery Center.  
Our second find - and the only ones that made it, near a Beaver Dam.  Sadly the cache was SOAKED, but it was still fun to find!



























Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Dish Crawl!

There is this new..."happening" that's going on around the US.  Dish Crawls.  They are quite fun.  Pittsburgh has had 4 different ones in 3 different neighborhoods - Lawrenveville, 2 in Shadyside, and one downtown.  I was lucky enough to go on the downtown Dish Crawl.  We tried 4 different restaurants - and OODLES of food.  I had only been to one of the choice restaurants previously.

The start of our Dish Crawl was to the Sharp Edge.  The Sharp Edge is a beer emporium - they have HUNDREDS of different types of beer.  Myself, not being a beer drinker, chose to drink cider - Strongbow Cider.  If you are a fan of beer - definitely check out their Belgium beer collection.  There are many locations all over the city!  We got a sampling of their food - but it was definitely phenomenal!



Our trio of food we received from Chef Nate at Sharp Edge was:  Poblano Mac'n Cheese, a Rabbit slider with a pretzel bun, and a salad with goat cheese, cherries, pecans, sliced apple and a salad dressing made from Lindemans Framboise (that they have on tap!) Every morsel of food was great.

Our second stop was a short walk down to Six Penn.  I've been to Six Penn before, but I've never been overly impressed.  We had a sampling of an aged cheddar grilled cheese, a blue cheese popover and Pesto ricotta Gnocchi.  While it was all quite good - it was an OVERWHELMING amount of cheese.  I Love - LOVE - Love cheese.  I put cheese on just about everything.  Cheese makes everything better.  But this was alot.  Especially when it took, basically, pulling teeth to get a glass of water.  Our group of approx. 30 people were not a surprise showing.  They were aware we were coming, so supplying water should not have been an issue, especially with such rich food.


To continue the adventure we walked up to Market Square.  To the Italian restaurant La Cucina Flegrea.  By this time, I was SO - So full.  But Anna - the chef and owner - was so welcoming!  They had tables set up for us with water(!!).  I would like to go back - to re-try the food.  We had this great pasta dish with a tasting of what she serves - but to get ALL the plates ready at the same time, we had some under-cooked prawns.  But - I would defiantly like to go back and try it again.


Our final stop was in Market Square as well - to a restaurant affiliated with Nola, Sonoma, and Seviche, called Perle for dessert!  We were delighted with a Chocolate covered strawberry cake with strawberry mousse, a flourless chocolate cake and a peanutbutter/grape jelly cookie.  It was all - awesome.



Will I do a Dish Crawl again?  I haven't decided.  I think I would prefer to get a group of 4-6 friends together and try a few restaurants.  There were some GREAT favorites of mine downtown that we missed.  But they could not accommodate a group so large.  Where, if we got a small group together, we could venture to these restaurants.  Make reservations, and try more great foods.  Maybe Dish Crawl needs to limit the amount of folks to smaller groups - and have it more frequently or multiple times in a neighborhood.  It is a great price ($45) for those who want to try places and foods that they wouldn't normally venture to.

But, Thursday (Feb 27) I have reservations at my new favorite place - Grit and Grace.  And that...that makes me happy!  I hope/plan to try different foods than my first time - with the exception of the Dim Sum (unless they are different!)

















Monday, February 17, 2014

Cape Canaveral and Cocoa Beach Florida adventures

I was lucky enough to get to enjoy some time down in Florida for 3ish days.  I flew down to Florida out of the smallest airport I have ever - seriously - EVER been to.  But the price was right for the ticket, so I sucked it up!  This airport - Clarksburg (WV) airport has ONE gate.  It's a bit disorganized.  BUT, the owner is fantastic.  When our flight got delayed on Thursday, he ordered pizza for everyone.  Every.single.person. who was waiting for their flight could have as many slices of pizza as they wanted - FOR FREE.  That, impressed me.  Truly impressed me.  He, his wife, and daughter (approx 10 yrs old) were working the counter at the snack bar.  It's a family business.  :)

Once I finally arrived to Florida ALL I wanted to do was put on my flipflops - which I did.  Before I got into my rental car.  Yippee for Toes out!

My mom and uncle were already in Florida. I joined their trip halfway through.  My uncle is not an adventurous eater.  The first night, he told my mother and I go to out to eat - he wasn't joining us.  So we went to this place we randomly drove past called Florida Seafood.  I was able to call ahead to get our name on the list, so we only had a 10 minute wait - which was great.  The decor was...interesting.  A little OVER zealous in my opinion.  But - they had seafood and i was bound and determined to eat seafood every.single.meal.

I REALLY wanted oysters.  They had oyster shooters (Oysters, horseradish, and cocktail sauce).  So I got 6.  I was REALLY disappointed.  I do not recommend getting them.  First - my oysters were frozen.  Frozen.  Hard as a rock - they didn't even TRY to thaw them.  Gordon Ramsey needs to go in there and give them a makeover on Kitchen Nightmares.  I think what is even more disappointing - their menu states " Plump Juicy oysters shucked and placed in shot glasses".  The implies, FRESH oysters.  Definitely not.  Don't get it.  Don't waste your money.
These are my frozen oyster shooters

My regular entree was the Tuna Tataki - which was great.  My mother got the Scallop Oscar - which she enjoyed.  Would I go back?  Probably.  Would I recommend it?  Yes, with caution!  While we were waiting for our seat - we heard a waitress giving a recommendation to folks for a place called "Grills".  My mom and I made note, as that was our next restaurant!


I will have loads of updating to do over the next few days - so be on alert!  


















Monday, February 10, 2014

A little Grit and a little Grace

My last blog post was telling informing you of my upcoming visit to Grit and Grace here in Pittsburgh.  Well, I finally went.  And I was most definitely NOT disappointed!  I believe this has quickly jumped to the number one spot of my favorite restaurants in Pittsburgh.

When Taste of Dahntown was open - did you go?  Were you bothered, as I was, on how you had to try to wiggle past the bar to get to the sit-down restaurant area?  The set up in that place was just - terrible.  I went once, and never went back.  Our service was terrible too.  But this isn't a review about Taste of Dahntown, this is a review about Grit and Grace.  Grit and Grace happens to be in the same location that taste of Dahntown was.  BUT - they completely re-did the interior.  It is phenomenal.  It is SO much better.

Lets move onto the important part of the program - the food.  I was meeting my dear friend Molly for dinner.  So I text her when I got downtown and she graciously ordered 1 of everything on the dim sum menu that Grit and Grace provides.  Each item is $5.  A nice gal came around with a tray and you would pick off the tray.  They had 5 items on their Dim Sum menu - pork belly, salmon, raw beef, celery root and brussel sprouts.  All 5 items, every single bite was - absolutely amazing.  I am not a brussel sprout gal - but I could have licked that bowl clean.  However, my favorite dim sum that was offered was the pork belly.  I did get a couple pictures of the pork belly - half eaten - then me trying to lick the bowl.  Don't judge :)

Must lick the bowl....


The portions of these 5 dishes were small - but that is what dim sum is meant to be.  We also ordered some items off their regular menu - which is served tapas style.  Tapas style is basically smaller plates and you share.  The ladies at the table next to us could not accept this concept.  It was quite interesting (and entertaining) :)

Since everything is served tapas style, they bring it out as it is ready - not in a particular order.  We ordered 3 different dishes.  The first to arrive was our steam bun, w/housemade mortadella, coriander mustard and homemade bread & butter pickles.  This is one large steam bun - so we cut it in half so we could both enjoy it.  Now - I am not a big mustard or pickles gal.  But I devoured this sandwich.  We both asked our waitress (Michelle - who was incredible!) what mortadella was - for those of you, who are similar to us, it's a type of sausage.


Sorry for the fuzzy picture!

Our next plate we received was the braised goat, appams, garlic & ginger, smashed potatoes and curry.  This.was.delicious!  I will give you warning - if you do not like spicy things - be aware that this has a bit of kick.  It's the curry heat - but it was still great.  The goat was so tender, it fell apart as you picked it up.  If you have had Ethiopian food and enjoyed the bread - this bread is quite similar and you eat it the same way - with your hands!


Our last main course plate was ramen noodles, more specifically - roasted pork ramen, mushrooms, daikon, carrot, 5 min egg, tonkatsu broth and chili aioli.  Out of all the dishes we got, this was my least favorite.   But - that being said - it was still scrumptious! The broth, noodles, everything was good.  However - the mushrooms were overpowering.  They were SO salty, I felt like I could feel my arteries clogging with the 1 bite I took.  But, when you ate a mushroom with the additional foods (broth, noodles, etc) it came together. Not to mention there was more (!!!!) pork belly :)



Molly had been lucky enough to enjoy Grit and Grace previously - so she knew what dessert to get - apple pie, with homemade cheez-its and cheez-it ice cream.  Again - I am not an apple pie gal.  I enjoyed this, but I let Molly devour it.  It is - QUITE - good.  But I am more of a savory gal.  So I got another dim sum of pork belly :)  


Every single morsel at Grit and Grace was amazing.  I am actually hoping to go back again this month.  It is the best!




















Monday, February 3, 2014

Grit & grace and other adventures

Sadly, Grit and Grace  was not able to happen last weekend due to the terrible weather we have been enduring.  But - this Thursday it will be happening.  Rain, shine, snow, I will be there darn it!  I can not wait.  Is it Thursday yet?  I am so excited to try this place.  The food looks amazing!  I can't wait to tell you - my non-existent - readers what it's like!

On another note, life has been....life the past few weeks.  It's been frigid.  It's been snowing.  Schools have been cancelled and delayed.  But, life is life and continues. I had a WHOLE weekend of plans canceled.  That was a bummer.  BUT, I got SO much re-organizing and cleaning done.  Now, I just need to not be freezing my bum off to take it to my car and deliver to goodwill :)

I just bought a deal for this new website that is interesting to me.  Blue Apron  Check it out.  I got the meal deal at Gilt City.  So - let me tell you what Blue Apron is.  For $60 (or if you get the deal $39) for 2 people you get either 3 vegetarian or 3 meat meals delivered to your home with the recipes.  For me, being a single gal - this is PERFECT.  I am trying to eat healthier, I'm trying to exercise more and if I don't have the temptation of the junk at the grocery store - well.  Perfection.  (i'll obviously still have to go for simple essentials - milk, etc).  It will be some time before you hear my "review."  Delivery is Fridays and I am not in town for the next few Fridays (after this week.)  Travel time for Jess is coming up! - Florida, York (My niece is 13!!) and Ohio!

Onto yet another subject - A dear friend from camp.  Camp that I went to over 10 years ago.  We reconnected via facebook.  She has started a fantastic facebook group that has incentives, motivates, etc with losing weight.  I just joined, and am truly just starting.  But I can't wait.  I'm doing shakeology, and Jamie (this is Jamie's link for Team Beach Body.  Please order through her!)  introduced me to this new plan - 21 day fix.  All has been ordered - I just have to impatiently wait for it to get here :)

I suppose, the day is almost over.  The sun is FINALLY out, instead of snow and I only have 106 days left till I leave for New Zealand!  Have a great day folks!

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Pittsburgh Winter Restaurant week

I was lucky enough to eat out 3 times for Pittsburgh Winter Restaurant week.  I had intended to eat out at 4 different restaurants.  Sadly, I had to cancel reservations at Notion.  We still had the opportunity to enjoy 3 restaurants though!

Our first stop was Spoon.  They had a fantastic menu of choices! 3 courses (with 3 choices for each course) for $35.14.  You can't beat that!  I was lucky to be eating with 2 other ladies and we all choose different foods, so then we got to try - everything.  Sadly, not thinking, we only took pictures of our entrees (course 2). Each course was amazing - during course one - I think we all enjoyed the gorgonzola blue cheese souffle the most.  Personally - that was my favorite course out of all 3!  Second course - we took pictures of.


Cassoulet - Chicken sausage, duck confit, braised cannellini + cranberry beans, herbed bread crumbs, and a farm egg

Roasted pork - sweet potato peirogies, braised cabbage, apple and bourbon broth, brown mustard, caraway creme fraiche

Skuna bay salmon - quinoa salad, wilted arugula, blood orange + cocoa emulsion, black garlic caramel, citrus segments

The desserts were quite yummy as well.


Our second meal for Pittsburgh Winter Restaurant week was at the amazing Butcher and the Rye.  Yet again - I failed to take pictures.  They offered 4 courses  for $35.14.  Seriously, amazing food.  This was my first visit to Butcher and the Rye.  They are one of my new favorite restaurants!  The food was amazing, the atmosphere was amazing, it was just...great!  I'm excited to get back to enjoy their "real" menu.  If you are able to score reservations at Butcher and the Rye (schedule early, they are quite popular!) - get the Mac & Cheese.  One of the best things I ate all of restaurant week!

Meat and Potatoes did something unique for restaurant week.  Every day they had a different cuisine.  I wish I could have eaten there every day...it all looked phenomenal!  I'll be honest - when I saw what cuisine was going to be every day, I was bummed I wouldn't be there for Korean Street food night. We went italian night.  Italian food is not my favorite.  BUT, italian food at Meat and Potatoes, is now a favorite.  Our four courses were - amazing.  Absolutely, delicious.  I took a picture of our menu and every course except the the meatball/polenta and risotto.  I have never been a big polenta person - but their meatball and polenta is - hands down - my new favorite.  It was ABSOLUTELY amazing.  I could have eaten just that.  All night.  Over and over. 

Best oysters around!  My friend Kim hadn't had them before.  Oysters in general!  But she enjoyed it!


Everything was served family style - so you would share.  Except the Tiramiso.  I would  not have shared :)


Next Pittsburgh restaurant week is coming up this summer!  Lets make plans and eat out!

My next food adventure will be to Grit and Grace on Sunday! 


Thursday, January 16, 2014

It's Throw back Thursday!!

I don't typically participate in Throw Back thursday stuff...but I found some fun pictures.  Some favorite pictures.
Myself, with the niece and nephew in 2008 :)

My dear darling brother and neighbor Doug showing their muscles!

And oldie but goodie!

This is how we would spend our Christmas morning, waiting for permission to go down the stairs to the presents!

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

One step at a time...

I've been overweight my whole life.  Seriously - WHOLE Life.  I remember being 5 years old and being told I shouldn't be wearing a 6X yet.  It was hard growing up around siblings who were in shape and LOVED to exercise.  But - no matter what I did, I was overweight.  Please don't take this as me looking for pity!  I  will get to my point eventually.  

In high school, I was on swim team and track and field to try to keep myself in shape.  But....I wasn't.  One of my worst memories of high school was being on swim team and our coach picking out swim suits - but they didn't come in my size and I couldn't squeeze into the largest size they had available.  So I had to wear a different suit.  A different swim suit than everyone else on the team.  In High school.  Horrifying.  But I did it. High school sucked.  Didn't help that my dad passed away my senior year, but that's a WHOLE different post.

I was never in shape or at a weight that wasn't considered obese.  It's just how I've been my.whole.life.  It's frustrating when people say - just don't eat junk food.  I'm not a "sweets" eater - I am a "savory" which is worse sometimes.  BUT...I don't eat a lot.  I truly don't.  I love my fruits and veggies, etc.

To make matters worse - in 2001 - I shattered my ankle.  Let me give you a bit of the back story - I was training to work at this amazing camp that i had gone to every summer growing up.  We were at the ropes course, doing the wall.  The dreaded wall.  And I fell.  3 feet.  While my leg was supposed to be facing forward, my toes were pointed at my other foot.  My ankle was popped severely out of place and shattered.  I was sent from one hospital to a hospital more "friendly" to this sort of severe damage.  I went straight into surgery.  When I woke up, I asked every person in my room if I still had a foot as I thought it was gone.  That was one terrible summer.  I was in 10 casts over 3 months.  I was told I could not put pressure, touch my toes to the ground, nothing - for fear I would re-break my ankle.  Once the casts were taken off and I was put into a brace (for a year), I was told what all was wrong - I have metal (which I have to carry a note through security at the airport), dead bone (due to circulation cut off), and no ligaments or cartilage in my ankle.  I do not have full movement in my ankle either.  I do not have the ability to run or jump due to the limited movement.  I worked my behind off in physical therapy.  I did not want folks to know that I had an injury.  I do not walk with a limp - except when I've been walking TOO long.  I can't be on my feet for very long periods of time.  I have to wear sneakers most of the time.  I can not wear heels.  It's pretty frustrating - but I have learned to adapt.

Now, back on track.  All of this being said - I'm still overweight!  We have established that!  But, I want, no...I NEED to get in shape.  I don't foresee myself losing TONS of weight.  I am a big boned girl.  I've come to grips with that.  I'm never going to be a size 6.  My hip bones are too big for that and my shoulders are too broad.  BUT, I would LOVE to shop in a "normal" size store instead of always seeing this hideous "big girl" clothes that look like what my mom wears.  Seriously - there are big girls that are YOUNG - design clothes for us!

So, it's a new year.  2014.  I am going on a big trip in May.  I want to lose weight.  I want to feel great while hiking to the Huka falls.  So.  I bought a FitBit one .  I have only had it one day.  But I am looking forward to it helping me watch my steps, count the calories I burn, help me with sleep, etc.  I am limited to the sorts of exercise I can do, due to my ankle.  But I am sure going to try my darndest.  I'd love encouragement, suggestions, etc!

Do you have a fitbit?  If so - lets be fitbit friends!!  Send me your name (you can post it in comments or send me a private message).

Sorry this is a boring post with no pictures.



Monday, January 13, 2014

Is it Friday yet?

I start counting down the work week at 7 am on Monday mornings.  5:30 on Thursday evenings can never come fast enough.  It is not that I don't like my job.  I actually really enjoy my job.  It's just that off time...is cherished as I imagine everyone's time is.

I've been collecting and collecting goodies.  Well, not purposefully collecting.  It just happens.  I bought a pair of sneakers thinking I liked them.  I never wore them.  I buy a shirt and wear it once.  So, it was began purging.  I went through everything in my bedroom - clothing, shoes, and books.  I had stuff in boxes under my bed, my closet, everywhere!

It's gone.  Well, it's in my living room in bags to take to goodwill.  MAN it feels good.  On these cherished weekends, I am hopeful to go through everything in every room and purge as much as possible.  There are a few things that I am selling on craigslist or ebay.  Otherwise, all goes to goodwill.

I can't wait!  It feels so good.




Any potential extra mula from craigslist/ebay will go towards the New Zealand trip I hope!

On another note - as I posted about last week - it's Pittsburgh Restaurant week.  Meals start tomorrow for me!  Thursday and Saturday night are my only free nights!  I'm eating out FAR too much.  But I'm justifying that it's restaurant week and it's awesome food at awesome prices at awesome places with Awesome people!

Yum!

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Foodies...restaurants...Yumminess, It's Pittsburgh Restaurant week folks!

I don't have too many travel horror stories, so while waiting for the next "exciting" trip to happen, we will talk about other things.  Today's topic you ask....Foodies!

I have 2 friends that I make a point of having a meal with once a month.  Sometimes we see each other more, sometimes there are additional friends joining us and sometimes I have additional meals with other friends.  But I love, Love, LOVE trying new restaurants.  There are so many amazing, great restaurants in the Pittsburgh area.  I will try anything, at least once. 

I had one of my nephews in town for a weekend and all he wanted to try was bone marrow.  So - being the fun aunt that I am - I made reservations at Meat and Potatoes  We just ordered appetizers - chicken livers, brussel sprouts, bone marrow and mussels.  Keep in mind that my nephew is 8 years old!  He devoured every morsel of food.  I was a proud aunt that day.  And just as a review on Meat and Potatoes - it is a relatively upscale, fancier restaurant.  The nephew and I had early reservations as I knew it was not the most kid friendly restaurant.  Our waitress and the hostess were - AMAZING.  They could not have been better!  I'm sure some waiters look at a kid at one of their tables and think - ARGH, really?  If our waitress had that feeling, we never saw it.  She was the best - I really appreciated that.  My nephew said "Aunt Jess, this is the fanciest, but best restaurant I have ever been to."  That, right there, tells you how great it was!  Oh - and he loved the bone marrow, but the brussel sprouts were his favorite.

Seriously - look at that excited face!


Next week (Jan 13-19) is Pittsburgh Winter Restaurant week.  Per Bon Appetit Magazine - Pittsburgh is an up and coming "foodie" city!  Andrew Zimmern has also said Pittsburgh is the next big thing.  And I agree. 
This girl agrees, it is the next big foodie city!  Pittsburgh does restaurant week twice a year - the winter (typically January) and the summer (typically August).  Each restaurant participating creates, essentially, a tasting menu for $35 or under of their specialty items.  There are tons of great restaurants on the list!

Next week for restaurant week, so far, I have 2 reservations at restaurants I have not been to yet.  Friday night with Libby (My Iceland travel buddy) is at Notion and Wednesday night is at Butcher and the Rye with 2 friends I knew growing up.   I.can.not.wait.  I hope to add at least one more restaurant into the mix if I can get another group of friends to participate.  

Keep an open mind when it comes to food folks....you never know what your new/next favorite food will be!  That being said - get out and try it - it's all good!

Saturday, January 4, 2014

Money saving woes....

I started saving money for my New Zealand trip as soon as I booked it.  How ever it was Christmas time, so it was hard....but I got a good few hundred buckaroos saved.  Then....we got our first snow fall of 2014.  And my car....which is a Subaru (read...all wheel drive) couldn't get traction and was allll over the place.

I grew up in an area with oodles of snow.  I've never been afraid to drive in the snow.  Ice...is another story, but snow...easy peasy!  I've had my Subaru 8 or 9 years.  I love my Subaru.  First major purchase I made!  And I made it off of craigslist!  She has been with me through alot.  Breakups with stupid men, a summer without a job, a trip to the outer banks, numerous trips to dc, York and wv.  I know her life...at 138000 miles and 12 years old is slowly (!!!!) coming to an end.  I will continue to love her and take care of her because I wouldn't be me without her!

But....tomorrow, we go to get new tires....sucking away from the money I've saved.  Argh!  But, then I will feel safe and confident in my little subi again.... :)  



Wednesday, January 1, 2014

And 2014 is here...

The exciting year of 2013 has come to an end.  I accomplished a couple of my 2013 new years resolutions....Travel.  Ok - I accomplished one.  But still!  One is  better than none :)

2014 brings quite a bit of excitement!  140 days till New Zealand!  Geepers, I have alot of money saving to do! I am pretty sure I am going to Florida for a long weekend in February.  I need to plan a trip to DC to visit my brother and his wife.  AND the family is doing a getaway to Deep Creek for my Uncle's 60th Birthday. 

Does anyone who doesn't read my blog (since I haven't really TOLD anyone about my blog!) have any exciting new years resolutions?